Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Annual Student Scholarship

2018 Scholarship Competition

2018 NBCE Student Essay Competition (PDF)

The NBCE is pleased to offer chiropractic students the opportunity to receive one of five awards of $2000 each for outstanding scholarly papers.


  1. The author must be enrolled as a student in a US, CCE-accredited, chiropractic degree program at the time of submission.
  2. The author must be in good academic standing and must have passed all of NBCE Part I.
  3. Only one essay is allowed per student per competition.


  1. Submit an original essay on a humanities topic that focuses on or relates to chiropractic. Humanities topics include: history, philosophy, practice perspectives, jurisprudence/law, ethics, theory, sociology, politics, and all aspects of social sciences that address historical or philosophical topics. Samples of humanities topics are available at
  2. The essay must be an original scholarly work written by one student, must be submitted as a Word document, and must not exceed 3500 words (word count does not include references).
  3. The paper should include: introduction (grounded rationale for the paper), discussion (addresses the topic in a scholarly manner), conclusion, and references.
  4. The student will submit: (1) a completed title page with contact information, (2) a letter of reference from a faculty member or administrator about his/her outstanding scholarly and/or service achievements, and (2) a letter from the registrar of proof of enrollment and good academic standing.
  5. The essay will be judged by a team of blinded reviewers on the following criteria: relevance to the chiropractic profession, scholarly style, quality of writing, originality, and use of references.
  6. Students who have submitted or won in past years may compete again.

Due Date

Submit questions and all materials electronically to  no later than 12 noon Pacific time October 1, 2018. Announcements will be made no later than December 1, 2018.

The NBCE Scholarship competition is administered by an outside corporation, Brighthall.  All questions about the competition should be directed to Dr. Claire Johnson at


The National Board of Chiropractic Examiners congratulates five winners of the annual scholarship competition.  This is the second year of the competition, with three awards presented in 2016. 

The winners for 2017 include:

  • Integration into Medicare and Medicaid:  The Moral Responsibility of Chiropractic, by Ryan Burdick, Cleveland University-Kansas City
  • Interdisciplinary Chiropractic:  A Shift Towards a Collaborative Educational Paradigm, by Aidan Kaye, New York Chiropractic College
  • The Integration of Chiropractic Across Race, Religion, Ethnic or Gender Diverse Populations:  A Review of the Literature, by Chandra Kenyon, Life University
  • The Three E’s, by Brittany Schmidt, Northwestern Health Sciences University
  • Beyond the  Eight Percent:  The Patients We Aren’t Seeing Are Those Who Need Us Most, by Chloe Hommel Tillman, Logan University

The students will each receive $2,000 for their winning essay.  The scholarship is open to students enrolled in U.S., CCE‐accredited, chiropractic degree programs; students must be in good academic standing and have passed NBCE Part I.  Entrants are required to submit an original essay, written by one student, on a humanities topic that focuses on or relates to chiropractic.

An independent third party, Brighthall, Inc., administers the program with President Dr. Claire Johnson leading the review and selection process.  The 2018 scholarship program has been approved by the NBCE’s board and will be launched in early 2018.

“The NBCE is proud to honor academic excellence through this program,” said NBCE President Dr. Salvatore LaRusso. “We look forward to continuing to support future chiropractors in 2018.”